Next Sunday’s Labor Day Classic at Carteret County Speedway will be the one year anniversary race at Carteret County Speedway.

After over a decade of construction, Bobby Watson opened the gates at Carteret County Speedway for racing for the first time on Sunday, September 6, 2015.  Since then, 24 men and one woman have visited victory lane.  Next Sunday, several more drivers will look to make history at Carteret County.

Brandon Clements was the first driver to enter victory lane at Carteret County Speedway in the inaugural race last September, scoring the win over Kris Hetu and AJ Sanders.  Clements, from Swansboro, and Michael Rouse from Wilson have been the only drivers to score victory in Mini Stocks at Carteret.

Thrilling racing has been the norm for the Late Model division ever since Clay Jones, from Goldsboro, scored the win in the inaugural race.  Five different drivers have won in six Late Model races.  Swansboro’s Chris Burns is the only repeat winner.  Other winners include Joshua Yeoman, Tyler Matthews and Eric Winslow.

In the most recent Street Stock race at Carteret County Speedway, James Horner became the third different winner.  Horner joins Jonathon Belfiore and Jesse Council as Street Stock winners.  Four different drivers have scored U-CAR wins, with Zac Reimer scoring the most recent victory – his second Carteret win.  Travis Miller also has two wins while James Stroud and Jesse Jones have one win each.

Dillon Spain has won three Legends races and Brenton Irving has won two.  Tommy Jackson and Justin Mitchell have also scored victories in the Legend Cars division.

Other race winners at Carteret County Speeway include Dustin Yeoman with three Bandolero wins, Jacob Bradley with one Bandolero win, Johnnie Johnson with an East Coast Flathead Ford win, Mack Tatum with a win in the Southern Ground Pounders and Brent Bullard who won a Carolina Eastern Mini Cup Assocation (CEMCA) race.

Modified racing was run at Carteret County Speedway last October with Cale Gale scoring the win.  USAC Midget racing also came to Carteret County Speedway on August 6th where Jessica Bean became the first and, to date, only female winner in the track’s one year history.

The second Kittrell’s Carquest/Advance Auto Parts Labor Day Classic will be run on Sunday, September 4th with several more drivers hoping to make history and make their mark.  The race will feature racing in Late Models, Street Stocks, Mini Stocks, U-CARs and Legends.

Gates will open at noon for the race, practice will roll off at 3:30pm, qualifying will start at 5:30pm and the green flag will fly on the Labor Day Classic at 7:15pm.  Tickets will be available the day of the race, with general admission tickets available for $15, or $5 for kids under five.

For more information about Carteret County Speedway, visit the track’s official website at, “like” Carteret County Speedway on Facebook ( or follow @carteretcoswy on Twitter (